Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS)

Scheme Information The Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS) consists of a range of work categories within the UK gas industry, candidates would normally undertake a ‘core’ assessment followed by one or more appliance or specialised assessments. The current scope for ERS ACS Certification can be obtained via the UKAS web site. Work categories are grouped into general work sectors, comprising:
  • Domestic Natural Gas
  • Commercial Heating
  • Liquefied Petroleum Gas
  • Commercial Catering
  • Emergency Service Provider & Meter installer
For candidates working in two or more of the above sectors, changeover assessments are available to avoid being re-assessed in common areas where competence has already been proven.
Pre-requisites Candidates must satisfy the entry requirements which are categorised as follows:

Category 1

Applicants are experienced gas fitting operatives from within or outside of the United Kingdom. You will be required to provide evidence of your gas fitting qualifications and experience to the Assessment Centre.

Category 2

Applicants are persons applying for certification who do not fall into Category 1 or 3. For example if you are seeking gas certification for the first time and are currently qualified in a trade allied to gas work. E.g. Plumber, HVAC technician or refrigeration engineer.

Applicants must:
  • provide an original copy of the qualification relevant to the area of gas work you are seeking to obtain certification in. The qualification submitted must have enabled competence to be demonstrated in the generic work activities associated with fossil fuelled appliances/equipment and/or pipework installation, including, any of the following work activities, flueing or ventilation or the installation, maintenance or commissioning of such appliances
  • provide written evidence from your employer confirming that you have undertaken ‘on the job’ gas installation and/or maintenance training which details precisely the gas work experience that has been gained under the supervision of gas safe registered installer
  • undertake ‘off the job’ gas training

Category 3

Applicants are new entrants to the gas industry and as such cannot directly enter for ACS assessment.

You are advised to:
  • Contact an ERS centre which operates a Guild of Gas Fitting Operatives (GGFO)Managed Learning Programme, see Courses offered by our centres - Guild of Gas Fitting Operatives (GGFO) – UK
  • undertaken an appropriate training course at a GGFO centre
  • gain experience on site by obtaining employment with a Gas Safe Registered business that is willing to provide an auditable extended period of company in house gas training and organisational support
  • produce a portfolio documenting evidence of your training and experience gained on site
Assessment Information Assessments normally consist of a combination of practical and theory examinations. Gas Safe Register will be notified of all certification results.
Expiry Information ACS certificates are normally valid for 5 years. You can undertake re-assessment up to 6 months prior to the expiry date of your initial certificate. Previous certificates must be presented to the assessment centre as evidence. If you wish to renew an expiring certificate, you must have previously been certificated in the work category – a shorter re-assessment is available in some categories but this must be taken within 12 months of the certificate expiry date, if not, it will be necessary to re-take the full initial assessment.
Further Information This information is intended to provide an overview of the scheme. For further details of cost, duration, eligibility and availability, please contact your nearest or preferred centre.
Copyright © ERS, 2014. All rights reserved.